top of page

Health & Fitness Blog

Health & Fitness Blog

Skin Care Simplified

This post is mostly for the ladies reading, but if there are guys here, please feel free to read on as the products I mention are good for you too!

Skin care is another big topic, but today I’m going to focus on sharing what you can do to improve your complexion every day in under five minutes. (I’m not talking about acne because that is a much deeper topic and the successful treatment depends on the root cause, so I’m not going to spout off some generic “one size fits all” remedy like so many do! Lol)

If you’re anything like me, you’ve probably tried (and continue to try) half the skin care products out there! Sometimes it’s for fun, sometimes necessity, but when you realize you have a box full of products that turned out to be overrated or unusable, it can get a little discouraging.

However, after much trial and error I’ve discovered a few “go to” products that I use daily, as well as a couple extra things I add now and then when needed. These happen to be all natural – no chemicals added.

If you have complexion issues like red marks from past acne, age spots or sun spots, dry skin or just a generally unbalanced or unhealthy tone that needs some work, you need to nourish your skin. And while a healthy diet is essential to that, topical care can greatly contribute to your skin’s condition.

The three products I use daily are:

(Now I know you’re wondering about the second one!)**

My routine is something like this: In the morning after washing (and using any acne treatment, if you use that) I apply a thin layer of Vitamin E Oil over my face, especially on any problem areas and around the eyes or where fine lines may appear. I let this soak in just a bit and then go on with my makeup routine. It not only moisturizes and nourishes the skin, it also helps to heal any marks you may have and acts as a softener for those fine lines that may pop up.

The next thing is at night, after the makeup (foundation) is off, I use either Dr. Christopher’s Bone and Skin Poultice or Facial Cream. Usually alternating, like one for two nights, then the other, and so on.

These are very light, all natural and extremely nourishing to the skin.

I found wonderful soothing and healing results with this combination. However, from time to time I add other things as I feel I need them or for different skin areas. They are as follows:

  • 100% pure Shea Butter – A nourishing and rich butter that’s great for the whole body and moisturizes all day. (I love it for my legs and feet. You may want to melt it down and add an essential oil to this, as it’s not the best smelling butter out there though.)

  • Hyaluronic Acid (with vitamin C) – Another nourishing and repairing tonic for the skin. This is not greasy, but goes on like a liquid and dries quickly.

Just a side note, for the guys reading…

If you wear a beard (or even if you don’t) you can use Vitamin E Oil, Dr. Christopher’s Facial Cream, the pure Coco Butter or Shea Butter on your face or facial hair to soften, nourish and repair it. Just be sure to rub it in well if you’re using them on a beard so that it doesn’t appear greasy!

I’ve linked all these products so you can easily find them on Amazon and not have to hunt them down.

If you have any questions about these or any other products feel free to drop me a line/comment.

Notes

**’Dr. Christopher’s Bone and Skin Poultice’ is most often used to repair tissue and bone, thus the name. However, because of its great regenerative powers, it’s very useful for the surface of the skin as well.**


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Share This
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page